

16 June 2025

Excellencies,

I am addressing this letter to you with regard to the appointment of eight members of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, in accordance with resolution 2000/22 of 28 July 2000 entitled *"Establishment of a Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues."* This resolution entrusts the President of the Economic and Social Council to appoint eight experts nominated by Indigenous Peoples Organizations to the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.

Having completed the requisite consultations and considering the backgrounds, experience and expertise of the candidates, I would like to inform you of my decision to appoint the following experts to the Permanent Forum for a three-year term beginning 01 January 2026:

- 1. From Africa (2 seats): Mr. Edward Porokwa (Tanzania) and Ms. Amina Amharech (Morocco)
- 2. From the Arctic (1 seat): Ms. Aluki Kotierk (Canada)
- 3. From Asia (1 seat): Ms. Jennifer Tauli Corpuz (Philippines)
- 4. From Central and South America and the Caribbean (1 seat): Patricia Gualinga Montalvo (Ecuador)
- 5. From Eastern Europe, Russian Federation, Central Asia and Transcaucasia (1 seat): Ms. Valentina Sovkina (Russian Federation)
- 6. From North America (1 seat): Ms. Lea Nicholas-Mackenzie (Canada)
- 7. From the Pacific (1 seat): Ms. Emma Rawson-Te Patu (New Zealand)

In accordance with the established practice, it is my intention to announce these appointments at the next formal meeting of the Council.

Please accept, Excellencies, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Shlee

Bob Rae President of ECOSOC

Permanent Representatives Members of the Economic and Social Council <u>New York</u>